|Renewal for Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants
- OT/OTA licenses expire February 28, 2011.
- Current renewal period is March 1, 2010 through February 28, 2011.
- If a person was originally licensed within the first year of the biennium (3/1/2009-2/28/2010),they will be held responsible for all 26 hours of continuing education as set forth in Rule 64B11-5.001, Florida Administrative Code).
- If a person is originally licensed within the second year of the biennium (3/1/2010-2/28/2011), they are exempt from continuing education, except for the two hours of medical errors prevention requirement and HIV/AIDS requirement.
- A notice for renewal is mailed to each licensee at the last address provided to the Board. Failure to receive this notification does not relieve the licensee of the responsibility of meeting the renewal or continuing education requirements.
- By renewing and submitting the appropriate renewal fees, you are acknowledging compliance with all requirements for renewal have all been completed, including continuing education requirements. You are responsible for retaining proof of all earned continuing education hours for a period of four (4) years. All licensees renewing active licenses are subject to audit and may be asked to show proof of appropriate continuing education.
- You should renew as soon as possible when your receive the renewal notice. All renewal applications, with the appropriate fees, must be postmarked on or before the expiration date of the license in order to be considered timely. If you did not receive a renewal notice you may print a generic renewal form and mail it in or write a letter stating you wish to renew your license to whatever status you desire, and include a statement saying, "I confirm compliance with all requirements for
renewal have been completed, including continuing education requirements." Please confirm, request or indicate your current address and any changes.
- Licensees are not permitted to practice without proof of current licensure. If you do not have your new license by the expiration date, your employer may verify your license at the Health Licensee and Continuing Education Providers Information website. If your license renewal is in progress, the status will not be available on the website. You will need to contact us at (850)
488-0595 to verify that your renewal application, with the proper fee, has been received and validated.
CE Requirements http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/occupational/ot_ceu.html
- Two (2) hours of the 26 hours shall be in a continuing education course relating to the Prevention of Medical Errors. This course must be provided by an approved occupational therapy continuing education provider.
- Two (2) hours of the 26 hours shall be in a continuing education course relating to the laws and rules for occupational therapy, i.e., chapters 456 and 468 Part III, Florida Statutes, and chapter 64B11, Florida Administrative Code. This course must be provided by an approved occupational therapy continuing education provider. Review a list of approved providers for this laws and rules course.
- Twelve (12) hours of home study per biennium are allowed. Home study education is independent study and requires a certificate of completion. Home study education does not include a web-based, satellite transmitted or online instruction program that allows or requires the licensee to interact or communicate back and forth with the instructor during the presentation of the program.
- If you are renewing a Clear/Inactive license to remain in a Clear/Inactive status, you may renew online. If you wish to reactivate your clear/inactive license to Clear/Active status your renewal must be mailed, with fees, and proof of the required continuing education.
- $100 reactivation fee, $60 renewal fee, 26 continuing education hours for the biennium in which you renewed inactive and for each biennium the license has remained in an inactive status.
- Make your personal check, bank check or money order payable to the:
DOH/Board of Occupational Therapy Practice. (DOH/Board of OT)
And mail to:
Department of Health
Board of Occupational Therapy Practice
P. O. Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330
(Note:Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.)
For Further information please visit our FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS